The D.C. Lobster Roll Experience: Red Hook Lobster Pound Truck

I have to admit, the appeal of the food truck is fading fast. I jumped on the craze late (just last summer) and am departing rather early. I got hooked by the taco trucks on Abbot Kinney in Venice, California thinking that trucks would allow for tastings from chefs I might not have otherwise had the pleasure of experiencing, but the novelty is wearing off, especially for lobster roll trucks. Having said that, Red Hook Lobster Pound in D.C. offers a decent (albeit pricey) lobster roll, my first (and only) in our nation’s capitol.

No minced or chipped meat on the Red Hook roll; claw, knuckle and tail meat is served in both the Maine roll (cold with mayo) and the Connecticut roll (warm with butter), in large chunks. The disappointingly small bun is toasted and buttered (even on the Maine roll); the roll is served with a wedge of lemon and a pickle slice. For $18.00 (high, for a truck) you get a bag of (the omnipresent) Cape Cod chips and a Maine Root soda (nice small label offering great flavors). The lobster roll is nice, even delicious, but frankly, expensive, especially given the size. I’ve mentioned, in my last blog, the depressed prices of wholesale lobsters and yes, I remember my econ 101, first day of class lesson: never price according to cost, price according to demand. Okay, I get it, it’s July, lobster rolls are the food of summer time and lobster rolls are, in this July of 2012, all the rage. Yes, demand is high, but…

I wish I could suggest a D.C. alternative that offered a better deal; I don’t spend nearly enough time in the area (I’d love to know the town better) and, therefore, have nothing to compare it to. Red Hook Lobster Pound offers a fine lobster roll, really, they do. For the money, though and given the parking lot experience, I want something more….just my personal preference. You won’t be disappointed at Red Hook Lobster Pound but you just may end up a little bit hungry.

Red Hook Lobster Pound Truck

http://www.redhooklobsterdc.com/

Washington, DC | Phone: (202) 341-6263

Red Hook Lobster Pound (food truck) on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “The D.C. Lobster Roll Experience: Red Hook Lobster Pound Truck

  1. Hi Amy, I go to their Red Hook, Brooklyn store whenever I am in the neighborhood. I think they’re great, but I don’t have others to compare them to. I have to have it “naked” since I can’t eat the bun, but it’s delicious anyway. The lobster is sweet and fresh. I will upload a photo to FB and send it to you.

Leave a Reply

